Month: October 2008

  • Busy, busy, busy

    It’s been an incredibly busy week, both at work and at home.  I’ve had
    something going on every evening this week.  Tonight I’m packing the
    car for Brad Leah so I can leave from work to go pick up M and drive up
    there.  I’m still thinking about the 100 days challenge and trying to
    decide which way to go:  something I already know I can do every day
    for 100 days or something that I think I should or need to do every day
    for 100 days.  Decisions, decisions.

  • An Interesting Challenge

    Someone I know gave me a challenge yesterday.  He challenged me to come up with something  I could commit to doing every day for the next 100 days.  It needs to be something at least vaguely productive, so promising to drink a glass of wine every day wouldn’t count (drat!), and I’d need to commit to doing the same thing every day.  His idea is that everyone wants to improve their lives (or at least change them), and that you can try doing it 100 days at a time.  He got me thinking about it (which I think was his goal). 

    So, what I’ve come up with so far is (1) writing something every day, either on this blog or in a private diary, (2) meditating for a short period every day, (3) yoga every day, or (4) aerobic exercise every day.  I need to think about it some more, and see if I can come up with more ideas. 

    The challenge intrigues me.

  • Your result for What Your Taste in Art Says About You Test…

    Balanced, Secure, and Realistic.

                           

    Impressionism is a movement in French painting, sometimes called optical realism because of its almost scientific interest in the actual visual experience and effect of light and movement on appearance of objects.  Impressionist paintings are balanced, use colored shadows, use pure color, broken brushstrokes, thick paint, and scenes from everyday life or nature.

    People that like Impressionist paintings may not always be what is deemed socially acceptable.  They tend to move on their own path without always worrying that it may be offensive to others.  They value friendships but because they also value honesty tend to have a few really good friends.  They do not, however, like people that are rude and do not appreciate the ideas of others. They are secure enough in themselves that they can listen to the ideas of other people without it affecting their own final decisions. The world for them is not black and white but more in shades of grey and muted colors.  They like things to be aesthetically pleasing, not stark and sharp.  There are many ways to view things, and the impressionist personality views the world from many different aspects.  They enjoy life and try to keep a realistic viewpoint of things, but are not very open to new experiences.  If they are content in their live they will be more than likely pleased to keep things just the way they are.

    Take What Your Taste in Art Says About You Test at HelloQuizzy

  • Your result for Are You a Jackie or a Marilyn?  Or Someone Else?  Mad Men-era Female Icon Quiz…

    You Are a Grace!

    mm.grace_.jpg                       

    You are a Grace — “I need to understand the world.”

    Graces have a need for knowledge and are introverted, curious, analytical, and insightful.

    How to Get Along with Me

    • * Be independent, not clingy
    • * Speak in a straightforward and brief manner
    • * I need time alone to process my feelings and thoughts
    • * Remember that If I seem aloof, distant, or arrogant, it may be that I am feeling uncomfortable
    • * Make me feel welcome, but not too intensely, or I might doubt your sincerity
    • * If I become irritated when I have to repeat things, it may be because it was such an effort to get my thoughts out in the first place
    • * don’t come on like a bulldozer
    • * Help me to avoid my pet peeves: big parties, other people’s loud music, overdone emotions, and intrusions on my privacy

    What I Like About Being a Grace* standing back and viewing life objectively* coming to a thorough understanding; perceiving causes and effects* my sense of integrity: doing what I think is right and not being influenced by social pressure* not being caught up in material possessions and status* being calm in a crisis

    What’s Hard About Being a Grace

    • * being slow to put my knowledge and insights out in the world
    • * feeling bad when I act defensive or like a know-it-all
    • * being pressured to be with people when I don’t want to be
    • * watching others with better social skills, but less intelligence or technical skill, do better professionally

    Graces as Children Often

    • * spend a lot of time alone reading, making collections, and so on
    • * have a few special friends rather than many
    • * are very bright and curious and do well in school
    • * have independent minds and often question their parents and teachers
    • * watch events from a detached point of view, gathering information
    • * assume a poker face in order not to look afraid
    • * are sensitive; avoid interpersonal conflict
    • * feel intruded upon and controlled and/or ignored and neglected

    Graces as Parents

    • * are often kind, perceptive, and devoted
    • * are sometimes authoritarian and demanding
    • * may expect more intellectual achievement than is developmentally appropriate
    • * may be intolerant of their children expressing strong emotions

    Take Are You a Jackie or a Marilyn?  Or Someone Else?  Mad Men-era Female Icon Quiz at HelloQuizzy

  • To P or not to P

    Well, this weekend was kind of surprising.  Had a lovely time at Three Kings and pigged out appropriately at Feast O’ Meat.  Went to court to watch M get announced for her Pelican and got ambushed myself.  Very weird – don’t really see it, myself.  As I was kneeling up there, trying to decide whether or not to decline, I kept remembering the talking-to I gave O last year when she was trying to decide whether or not to accept.  My choice was to decline and feel like a hypocrite or accept and feel undeserving.  Damn it.  I managed to go 18 years in the SCA without having to attend a meeting I didn’t call.  Streak broken.