August 20, 2010

  • Big Step

    Wow, it’s been *months* since I’ve posted on or read Xanga, but this isn’t something that’s suitable for Facebook.  I took an actual, positive step toward changing careers yesterday.  Don’t know if it will pan out, but unless I try, I’ll never succeed.  I submitted my resume package to the American Association of Law Schools for distribution.  Every law school in the country uses this data base to screen candidates for teaching positions.  If they’re interested, they set up an interview during a three day “job fair” (not so affectionately known as The Meat Market) held in October or November of each year.  If you get enough requests for interviews, it’s worth your time and money to fly to Washington DC to interview.  I’m really only interested in the new law school that opening in downtown Dallas, but going through this process is the only way my resume will be considered.  Seems weird that I’d have to fly to Washington to interview with a law school in Dallas, but that’s the way it works.  Distribution of the resume packages occurs on September 1.  Hopefully, I’ll hear from the school I’m interested in soon thereafter!

    If this doesn’t pan out, it’s OK.  I’m liking my job now that Xerox has bought ACS and canned the crazy man who was our General Counsel.  It’s just that I’ve wanted to teach for years, and with a new law school opening in my home town, it would be really stupid not to take the chance!

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *