March 29, 2009

  • Recovery

    Why is it that I always need a week to recover from my vacations?  Well, OK, not every vacation since Canyon Ranch is all about relaxation, but I’m only now starting to get back on a “normal” schedule after a fabulous trip to Las Vegas with MCC.  Unfortunately, things are even worse for her – she’s come down with a bad case of bronchitis.  Sigh.  Need to check on her later today . . .

    It was a damn near perfect vacation though.  Flights were on time both ways.  We went to one show each evening (Cirque du Soleil’s “O” and “Mystere”, Penn & Teller and Blue Man Group), and we had just about the best possible seats you could get at each show.  All of them were great, although I’m not sure we did “O” justice because we each had an Oreo Martini just before the show and were pretty loopy.  Besides the shows, there was shopping.  And shopping.  And art galleries.  And shopping.  And food, OMG the food!  And (trumpets) the spa day, which continued with champagne on a terrace over-looking dancing fountains, and wrapped up with front row, center seats for Mystere.  I even got serenaded by a bunch of drunk Aussies on the terrace.  Oh, and we did spend all of 5 minutes gambling, during which time, we both lost $20.  The only unhappy thing I can think of was that we did way too much walking before getting smart and buying a day pass on the Deuce (a bus that serves the strip).  But, hey, if you didn’t have something bad, how would you measure the good?

    Anyway, I had a great time and was sorry to be back at work.  It’s end of quarter, so it’s very hectic right now, with everyone demanding my attention “right now!”  I’ll have to sit down and get some work done this afternoon so I’m not too swamped tomorrow.  But, then my whirlpool bath beckons . . . maybe I’ll open a bottle of champagne and wax nostalgic over last weekend!

Comments (1)

  • I’m sure you can you-tube Aussies singing in the back ground for effect. *grin*  Sounds like a great vacation.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *